How to stay safe on Whatsapp.
WhatsApp has been around for years and is currently the most popular chat app in the world. In fact, the WhatsApp team confirmed they’ve recently exceeded two billion global users.
While it seems like just another chat app, it has truly turned into a full-fledged social media platform in itself. From sharing status messages to group chats and calls, WhatsApp has everything you need.
However, if you’re not careful, you could unwittingly share personal details with strangers. Here are a few guidelines to take note of:
Stop making these mistakes on WhatsApp
Clean up your contact list
The most important step is to clean your contact list and delete phone numbers of people you are no longer in contact with. Perhaps even block a few, if you feel that would suffice. Why?
Remember, almost everyone uses WhatsApp, and if your number is saved on their phone – and their number on yours – they’d be able to see your details if you’re not careful.
There’s really no reason why a former landlord from 15 years ago or your first primary school crush whom you haven’t spoken to in decades should be on your contact list.
Recheck your profile photo
It’s a good idea to keep a simple profile photo and refrain from revealing too much information about your family members, especially your children and grandchildren.
Your WhatsApp profile photo can be seen by everyone on your contact list, unless you change it in your security and privacy settings. The following security settings are available:
- Everyone (all WhatsApp users),
- My Contacts (people on your contact list)
- Nobody (not even your contacts will see it)
Unfortunately, you can’t hide your profile from selected contacts.
Enable two-step verification
This will prevent you from being a victim of SIM swap fraud. Also, it will not allow others to set up your WhatsApp account on another phone by stealing the OTP from you.
Go to Settings and add Two-Step Verification to prevent someone else from locking you out of your account and use your WhatsApp account on another device without your knowledge.
Restrict who can see your status updates
Status messages are private and are meant to be shared with your friends, family members and definitely not that landlord or crush from ten years ago.
Be sure to use the privacy settings properly to filter out unnecessary people from seeing your status messages. Go to the Status page, select Status Privacy, and you should see the following options:
- Who can see my status updates:
- My Contacts
- My Contacts Except
- Only Share With
Be group savvy
There’s an option to restrict who can add you to group messages. Your options are:
- Everyone – anyone on WhatsApp can add you to a group
- My contacts – only people on
- your contact list can add you to groups
- My contacts except – this option let you select who can add you to a group